New camera!

I bought a new camera recently – very excited!  So I thought I would commemorate the occasion by creating a little photo-journal for myself.  I figure this will be a great way for me to keep track of my photographic pursuits.   In the future, I think I will begin to narrow down a more specific photographic project that will be updated here on the blog.

Why did I buy a new camera?  Well, I’ve always enjoyed shooting candids of my friends, but they’re always a little wary when I point a big SLR at them.  Thus, I opted for a rangefinder instead, which is a lot more sleek and discreet.  Since there are only two digital rangefinders ever made, I went for a film rangefinder instead…this will be a great way for me to learn about different types of film too.  I feel so backwards though, most people transition from film to digital, but apparently I’m regressing…I suppose it’s the consequence of growing up with computers around me.  Don’t worry, the dSLR isn’t going anywhere, it will just be used for a different purpose.  My rangefinder will become the carry-everywhere camera, whereas the dSLR will be for more specific tasks.

Anyway, I’ll stop for now, since my writing style isn’t all too terribly interesting 😉  Feel free to leave comments, ask questions, or whatever, and I’ll do my best to respond.

Now, I’ll leave with two shots from my first roll in the new camera!  A very typical scene in my house after a hard day’s work.  Perhaps uninteresting right now, but I hope my wife and I will appreciate the photos more 20 years in the future.

ZI 35mm Biogon f/2, TMAX400.  No shutter or aperture information, too bad there’s no way to keep EXIF with film 😉

P.S. Any WordPress experts out there?  I want to get rid of, or at least reduce, the giant left hand column that takes up a ton of space and expand the width of the main text body.

Leave a Reply

