Storytelling

What I like about photography is the story associated with each photo.  Catching a special moment that makes you ask, who are these people, what are they doing, and why are they doing that.  Honestly, I think that’s the reason why I set up this blog to begin with, and I sort of lost track of it over the last few months.  I’m really not the peppy, upbeat portrait photographer who blogs about how every new client is “the loveliest/most energetic person I’ve ever met.”  Don’t get the wrong, I LOVE to take nice photos and provide them for my friends (and will continue to do so as long as my friends let me!).  I also love the challenges associated with different types of portrait photography, and I always hope that I am able to hand over a CD of images that my friends will cherish.

But, this particular blog was originally intended to describe my life through pictures.  These guys express what I hope to achieve, but since my friends and church are so invaluable to me as well, they are also included just as readily in the blog.  My goal is to capture interesting and evocative moments that reveal a little more of our lives, but it may not necessarily contain the most aesthetically pleasing portrait.  Photojournalism, you might call it.

Most of these photos have been taken with a film rangefinder, although a few still with my DSLR.  Sometimes I hate dealing with film.  There are so many different kinds out there, it takes so much effort to figure out which ones’ qualities match what I like.  Then find a good developer – I only know of one place in this city that develops (true) black and white film.  Of course, those guys are open only during the hours I’m supposed to be at work.  If developing C-41 (most color films and desaturated black and white films), then I need to rely on the local drugstores, who have been scratching up my film.  Or some places closed down the developer completely, I suppose due to lack of business.  Then I bring it home to scan.  Scanning is a time consuming process too.  Then I still do some post-processing with Photoshop or NX2.  Sigh, I’m a lazy person.

But I have to admit, with all that hassle, there’s an intangible element about film that naturally reminds you photography is about art and light, not lens sharpness and test charts or brick wall shooting or other kinds of  nonsense people argue over the internet about.  I see a semi-blurred photo with film – it’s okay, it’s art, it’s pleasing.  I see the same thing in digital – dang it, no excuses!  Needs perfect sharpness!  So, here has been my life over the course of many months, actually.  Not in any particular order (at least consciously).

Home and family

Church and friends (or their kids 🙂 )

Stay tuned…

3 thoughts on “Storytelling

  1. love how you capture the simplicity and beauty of the ordinary life, especially of your wife during nesting =). soon we will see pics of your expanded family!

Leave a Reply

